Liv

The Job Hunt Continues

In crafts, Etsy, jobs, Uncategorized, wrinkled sea dog on February 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Picture3 Here’s Chloe doing her impression of me from two weeks ago – going to my 9 to 5 office job, complete with hour-long commute. Now that my fancy fellowship is over, it is back to the drawing board. As many others (exhibit 1, exhibit 2, exhibit 3) have blogged before me, it is tough times for a PhD or any young professional in this job market – much more so when you are still considered a lowly foreign immigrant.

A higher degree certainly puts you out of the market for a lot of jobs, and after years of studying to be an academic, I’m still not sure that is the best path for me. In the meantime, I am working on writing up by dissertation for publication, and keeping my sanity with little art projects.

I think that a lot of scientists get burned out these days. The pot of research funds is shrinking, competition is increasing, and the work-life balance is becoming increasing UN-balanced. I’m slowly becoming more drawn to the idea of owning my own business, and doing small research projects in Alaska.

I miss being out in the field – in addition to being outdoors and doing good science, it inspires me to paint my little cards like this one. Unfortunately, art projects don’t pay the bills and the Washington DC area is a very expensive place to be unemployed. Thank heavens my husband was smart enough to have skills that keep him employed. In the meantime, it’s back to the part-time jobs classifieds for me.

 
  1. […] perhaps you should just forget the college degree – go get a marketable skill instead (see here for more ramblings about this point from a few weeks […]

Leave a Reply

