Liv

Job satisfaction

In jobs, life on March 10, 2012 at 10:20 pm

My new part-time job as a dog walker/ pet-sitter has been keeping me pretty busy lately. There have been nice easy days where I can spend mornings at a Starbucks (seen here with Chloe and my good friend Shannon who was visiting from out of town), and there are days when I am on call for 12-14 hours a day.  I highly recommend this line of work for anyone looking to get a little more exercise.

Incidentally, Connor prefers to stay hidden under benches when in public coffee shops.

My husband generously decided that I needed to have some music to listen to while I walk dogs, and he surprised me with a wonderful Ipod nano (which I am still learning to use). So now whether I am walking my clients which has so far included a playful 80-lb doberman, an older spaniel, a boxer puppy, a goldendoodle puppy, a giant English sheepdog, a lab-mix, a dalmatian mix, a whippet, three other mutts and a husky – I can have some tunes.

Luckily my first two weeks of walking have been in beautiful weather, but the greatest part of the job so far has been the job satisfaction. No matter how tired I am at the end of a day, the waggy tails and happy kisses from my canine clients have been a great pick-me-up. At the end of my last pet-sit visit with the husky, she sat facing the floor and just rested her head on my leg. What a love.

I don’t know what’s in store for us a year down the road, but for the moment I think I landed a pretty great part-time job. The only downer being that I need to pile on the ice-cream to make up for all the calories I am burning these days. A tough life indeed.

Chloe and Connor look to see what's on the other side of the bridge.

  1. I LOVE Chloe & Connor!

  2. Chloe & Connor, very lovely pets. love them.

Leave a Reply

